Download as iCal file
1st Announcement and Call for Abstracts (9th South African Young Geotechnical Engineers Conference (SAYGEC)13, 14 & 15 September 2017
From Tuesday 12 September 2017
To Friday 15 September 2017
Contact YolandĂ© van den Berg

1st Announcement
and Call for Abstracts

9th South African Young
Geotechnical Engineers
Conference (SAYGEC

The 9th South African Young Geotechnical
Engineers Conference “#Geotech #Innovate”
is intended to establish a network forum and
opportunity for young geotechnical engineers to
better acquaint themselves with the industry and
products available. This takes place in an
environment where all presenters and most of the
delegates are under the age of 35. The conference is
held every three years and aims to provide delegates with
the opportunity to develop their writing skills and produce
a technical paper which will be published in the conference
proceedings. In addition, presenters can exercise presentation
skills in front of a more forgiving audience and delegates attending
can all learn from like-minded

Geotechnical practitioners under the age of 35 in the mining
and civil construction industry. More experienced geotechnical
practitioners are encouraged to motivate YGE‘s to attend
the conference and explain the advantages of presenting
their work at the conference.
In an adventure-filled and intensely rewarding career Malcolm Jaros
was taught by Professors Jennings, Skempton, Bishop, Gibson, Hoek,
Vaughan, Burland and Ambraseys and worked with Rankine Lecturers Geoff
Blight, David Henkel, Harry Poulos and Brian Simpson.
• From graduating at Witwatersrand University in 1971 worked until 1979 in
Johannesburg and London with Arup, who sponsored his MSc at Imperial College
in 1975.
• From 1979 to 1983, worked with geotechnical contractors and notably with Geoff Blight on
the investigation of the heave of the Lethabo Power Station that was the focus of his Rankine
Lecture of 1997.
• Rejoined Arup in Durban in 1984 until 1989 when their Durban office was (temporarily) closed
and then joined Moore Spence Jones to work, primarily, on the upgrading of the R102 Chris Hani
(previously North Coast) Road to a 4-lane arterial highway and a major extension of the Shell
and BP (SAPREF) refinery at Isipingo.
• In 1994 joined other ex-Arupians on the Engineering team for the land reclamation for the
new Hong Kong airport at Chek Lap Kok to design and coordinate ground improvement
measures to ensure that the runway would satisfy ICAO requirements at time of airport
opening in 1997 and stay within tolerance until the scheduled resurfacing seven
years later.
• Returned to Durban in 1999 to work on a variety of interesting projects including an
aluminium smelter in Richards Bay, stabilisation of the new rail tippler at Saldanha
Bay, foundations for the Moses Mabhida Stadium Arch and fabric-reinforced
embankments to support the Gautrain track across potential sinkholes
in the cavernous dolomite ground of Snake Valley.
• In 2008 was appointed adjunct Senior Lecturer in Geotechnical Engineering
at University of KwaZulu Natal and in 2012 worked on the compaction
control of the 100m high rockfill embankment for the new airport on
St Helena island.
• Currently mentors students at UKZN and young engineers at Geosure,
a company that he founded in 1992.
Who should attend?
Please email your abstract to
The conference organisers will acknowledge receipt of all
abstracts by email. The scientific committee will review all
abstracts and the presenting author (only) will be notified of
the outcome.
Length of abstract: 300 words.
Title: Centred in capital letters.
Authors: Names, affiliations and countries of authors and co-authors must appear under the title.
Format: Typed in Times New Roman, 12 pt and 1.5 line spacing.
Margins: 25 mm on sides, 20mm top and bottom.
Text: Must begin at the margin – do not indent.
Abstract Guidelines
The deadline for abstract submission is 31 January 2017.
Abstract submission deadline
Conference Godfather
– Professor Malcolm Jaros

Malcolm Jaros accolates:

1988 Jennings Award, with Cliff MacMillan, Graham Plant and Gavin Byrne
2009 GIGSA biennial award for technical excellence
2009 SAICE national award for Technical Excellence - Foundations or the Moses Mabhida Stadium Arch
2009 SAICE Geotechnical Medal
2012/2014 Best Lecturer in Civil Engineering at UKZN
Tuesday 12 September 2017
Arrive at venue
Welcome function in the evening
Wednesday 13 September 2017
Breakfast at venue
Full day conference
Conference dinner
Thursday 14 September 2017
Breakfast at venue
Full day conference
Conference social function
Friday 15 September 2017
Breakfast at venue
Half day conference
Departure in the afternoon
Programme Outline:
Malcolm Jaros accolates:
Registrations for the conference will open in
January 2017.
Yolandé van den Berg
PO Box 10125, Cinda Park, 1463
Cell: 082 323 3910
Fax: 086 260 7024
Conference Secretariat:
More information about the accommodation
will be made available upon confirmation of
the conference venue.
There is various sponsorship, advertising and
exhibition options for the YGE conference.
For the list of options please send an email
There are various Sponsorship,
Advertising and Exhibition Options:

Location Durban, KwaZulu-Natal (venue will be announced shortly)
PO Box 10125, Cinda Park, 1463
Cell: 082 323 3910
Fax: 086 260 702